Writer’s Block

Standard
I wrote this poem, appropriately, as I was procrastinating on my English essay. I couldn’t think of a single thing to say, so I fought my case of writer’s block by writing. This poem was the result. I hope you enjoy!
I put the pencil
down,
pick it up, put it
down.
The
panic
starts.
Why isn’t this easy?
Why, oh why, am I
struggling?
A
blank
piece of paper
was once a friend, but
it is now my
worst
nightmare.
Every time I picked up a pen, the
words would flow
out of me,
cascading out of
my heart and
spilling out of my
soul, splattering beauty
across the page,
scattering the
horrid
bright
blank
whiteness
and creating something
lovely
in its place.
It was once
so easy to dispel, but
now,
as I am staring
down
at the paper,
its blinding brightness
burns into my eyelids and
halts
my imagination.
Oh, imagination, creativity,
why have you
forsaken me?
Why have you left me
devoid of inspiration,
deprived of ideas,
drained of dreams?
Why have you left me grappling
in the darkness,
searching for a light that
has been
put
out,
shrouded in the
darkness
of a
barren
brain?
But a small voice inside my head
tells me to pick up
a pen, and
though I am
drained
of all inspiration,
I reach for it and
begin to write,
knowing that with each
stroke of the pen, with each
word,
I am fighting that horrible
deadly beast known as
writer’s block.
So there. I am
unstuck! I just
wrote
a poem.
Leave a Reply

